New to this whole process, what should I focus on...?
  • bntkids-studios
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

New to this whole process, what should I focus on...?

by bntkids-studios » Thu Aug 11, 2022 7:32 pm

Hello! I'm browsing through this website looking for the first step. I have an idea I want to make real, but I don't have the funds for it. It's a webcomic, I don't expect any funds to come back except what is already given to me (for example, if I host the comic on LINE! Webtoons, I don't expect instant, or almost, any return.)

Each comic will be funded by the crowd. My project target goal is page by page, and I'm currently searching for a good artist to make this happen. I'm looking for an artist with a unique, beautiful artistic design, and am willing to pay big bucks, if I can afford it with my kickstarter. However, for now, I will start with someone smaller to kick off the project/comic idea.

I am not an artist, I am a writer and character designer (I write the info about the character's appearances, but I'm still learning how to make interesting characters)

I have specifics for how the characters act, look, and feel. And I am in love with these characters; I will not sell them to any company (Even if a company threatens me). If the offer is big, and I can cut a deal, I will cut a deal to work with an established studio to put them on the screen or paper in the way I intended it to look, no way else (Tho, reality check, that's not usually how it works, which is why I'm going independent)

First things first, where to start? I am reading dozens of articles, but I have yet to find a solid, sure-fire way to get my kickstarter successful (And, another reality check, many kickstarters fail, because of bad research or not enough exposure and interest)

Here's the delimma I'm facing:

I need a product to show, a demo, to allow people to see what my idea is all about
    For that, I need to make it myself or hire someone to make it