Hardworking Filmmaker Looking to Make Friends
  • dominickevans
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

Hardworking Filmmaker Looking to Make Friends

by dominickevans » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:33 am

Hello Everyone!

My name is Dominick Evans. I am 32 years old and I am a filmmaker. I also happen to be a civil rights activist, particularly when it comes to disability rights and LGBT rights! I was born with a degenerative muscle disease, Spinal Muscular Atrophy, which put me into a wheelchair are the age of 16. In spite of that, I have never let anything stop me! I have had many setbacks, including an injury, which left me bed ridden for five years. One day, I got into my wheelchair and said, I have to stop letting life pass me by. With intense Physical Therapy and a lot of medication, I was back in school to finish my degree within a year. I still struggle with chronic pain, regularly.

In 2010, I returned to Wright State University and entered their highly competitive film program. I made it through all of their cuts and am now a senior. The program was endorsed by Tom Hanks and it is the hardest program on campus. We started with over 100 in our first class and my class now has 8 people. I will be the first to receive a BFA in Motion Pictures Production who has a significant disability. I worked my rear off, which often meant 16 hour work days! I'll also receive a second degree when I graduate in 2014, in Political Science. My focus has been in Civil Rights. I have spoken publicly about civil rights issues and I also can sing. I have several years of vocal training!