The Dark Element, the opening chapter of a new Earth opera
  • elementaltorall
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

The Dark Element, the opening chapter of a new Earth opera

by elementaltorall » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:23 pm

Hello,

My name is Mason J. Torall. I'm an aspiring author who has spent the past two years working as a writing partner with bestselling author Colleen Oakes: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorColleenOakes. My debut novel, The Dark Element, is a sci-fi for an evolving world where people are concerned more and more about where we as a species might go.

FacebookCoverFinal.jpg
    FacebookCoverFinal.jpg (33.62 KiB) Viewed 758 times

I'm a little jaded on the notion of a self-inflicted apocalypse. Yes, movies like Book of Eli and Children of Men are fun and interesting, as are dystopian future stories like The Hunger Games, The Giver, or Ender's Game. Hell, even video games like Fallout 3 and Telltale Games' The Walking Dead are a blast to play, but all of those stories have something in common:

They have very little hope.

Yes, these stories are about finding hope in a ruined world, but… what if we looked at a world that isn't there yet?

The Dark Element is indeed a dark story, where Earth is being harvested by the usurping alien empire known as "The Collective", who betrayed humanity after 20 years of goodwill and took the planet for themselves. Humanity is beaten, battered, and bloody, and the tyrannical Over-Seer is near a solution to eradicate us once and for all, and yet...