Do you have to market your project to be successful?
  • Toddy351
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

Do you have to market your project to be successful?

by Toddy351 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:31 pm

Hey guys! I am brand new to Kickstarter

I have a project that I will be putting on here in the near future. I've gotten a lot of publicity (NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, ETC). Do you have to market in order to make your project successful or can you just put your campaign on Kickstarter and people will find it?

I will be marketing it like crazy, but just wondering if Kickstarter is a site where people just go on and find different projects and fund it?

Thanks for any insight! Looking forward to talking to all you guys.

sbriggman
    -- Veteran Member --
    -- Veteran Member --

Re: Do you have to market your project to be successful?

by sbriggman » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:10 pm

Good question.

To give you an idea of the range, in this one forum post, the user reports:
    I am watching at bitly link stats (which I am posting everywhere) and BingAds stats and realize that almost all visitors are not from Kickstarter.
    - source: kickstarter-search-question-t1587.html

Another user reports:

I would say 50/50 the first day and now it is almost all KickStarter. I don't seem to get anything from FaceBook .
    Source: viewtopic.php?t=1562&p=4058

It really depends on the project. Have seen some projects get 80% from Kickstarter, others get only 20%. I'd recommend preparing to drive 1/3 of the initial pledges from your own social networks and professional networks and then marketing the campaign outside of Kickstarter.
    Learn how to succeed on Kickstarter: here.
    Submit a free press release for your Kickstarter campaign here.
  • Toddy351
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

by Toddy351 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:28 pm

Thanks for the advice!
  • jungaworld
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

by jungaworld » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:57 am