the journey to my moderately successful iBoy Kickstarter campaign ( 340% funded )
  • philipks
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

the journey to my moderately successful iBoy Kickstarter campaign ( 340% funded )

by philipks » Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:34 am

Hi, I just want to share my first experience running a Kickstarter Campaign.
    https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/cl ... classicbot
    I hope it would be a fun and relatable read. There will be self-promotion, I hope you don't mind. ( We are all entrepreneur here, right, so you would understand)

So I am a toy designer from Hong Kong. My retro-themed toy line Classicbot (https://classicbot.com)has a small but loyal following. I mainly sell my toys thru my own online shops, plus some niche online retailers around the world. After 3 products and 3 years since the beginning, I wanted to take the 4th toy to a bigger arena. I thought Kickstarter was the way to go. I hope it will get my toys more exposure. But there was hesitation, I worried about what the existing fans with think. I already talked about making the toy. Will they want to support me if I suddenly shifted the project to Kickstarter? Anyway, I am glad I went ahead. I tend to overthink, not sure if any of you do. But I am glad I convinced myself to go ahead.