Photo-realistic renders for campaigns.
  • ramissin
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

Photo-realistic renders for campaigns.

by ramissin » Sun Nov 02, 2014 8:56 am

Hi, I'm a 3d visualization artist working for some guys about to launch a kick-starter project, they have asked me to make some renders for their product.

Obviously I'm finding it difficult to get my head around the "No Realistic Renders" policy enforced by Kickstarter.

Can anyone clarify, or point me to visual examples of what is "allowed" and not allowed.?

Can I be creative with this? can I overlay wireframes and sketches over a realistic render ? I have read a lot about the issue but still to find visual examples of what is considered "realistic".

This is madness btw, pure bloody madness, I can link to a render, but not put one in the product page.

If it IS a render, all that's needed to be done is to put "CONCEPT RENDER" on or around the image.

Instead of assuming people will get confused, simply ask that campaigns assert the fact that an image is a concept rendering not a photo.

It's not a problem for me to do both realistic and concept renders, the issue is it seems some campaigns do have realistic renders

This announces....

Kickstarter simplifies rules, allows renders once more

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/2014/ ... -renders/1

..but liks to a page where it states..

Our community is built on trust and communication. Projects can’t mislead people or misrepresent facts, and creators should be candid about what they plan to accomplish. When a project involves manufacturing and distributing something complex, like a gadget, we require projects to show a prototype of what they’re making, and we prohibit photorealistic renderings.

My business isn't "Misleading" or "Misrepresenting" people it's realizing and visualizing peoples dreams and concepts in a visual manner.

I'd appreciate any info/advice on this crazy ruling.

tia

• hogeandco
    -- Senior Member --