Did I make the right decision?
  • TedF
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

Did I make the right decision?

by TedF » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:41 pm

I'm not a mind reader, but I'm sure there's been some other people with this question on their mind as they launched their campaign. Let me give some background to my story:

I'm 24, I graduated in May 2012 from NC State University with a BS in Mechanical Engineering and 3.7 GPA. I mention my GPA because while I'm pretty smart, I had to work my butt off in college to succeed (plus my financial aid depended on it). After graduating I got a good job at a company that does reliability statistics on turbines. I worked there for 2 years, getting a promotion and a few raises along the way. I was set to have a great career as the bridge between two giant industries – energy and big data. Then, on July 11th 2014, I turned in my two weeks notice and began developing a start-up apparel company…something I had no clue about or familiarity with. I just had an idea, and an ambition to create and share it. I wanted to create comfortable, casual clothing that outdoor lovers could still wear in the city limits. I still had to learn how to start a company, make sure no one sued me, register with the proper authorities (that was a pain), create designs, use the software to do so, online marketing basics, seo basics…the list can keep going for a while (as I’m sure many people here know).

Fast forward 83 days + a couple hours and here I am writing this post. I’m 5 days into my Kickstarter campaign for my startup. I’ve reached about 45% of my 5K goal, 70% of which has come from very supportive family and friends (the other 30% seems to be generally interested backers). With less of a stellar start then I was hoping for, I’ve been left wondering if I made the right decision. But with more thought and meditation, the answer still remains “Yes”. Even if my campaign fails, the answer will still remain “Yes”.