pre-launch promotion, two options I've read about
    MartinT
    -- Senior Member --
    -- Senior Member --

pre-launch promotion, two options I've read about

by MartinT » Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:21 pm

Hi,

I'm planing a kickstarter campaign. It's about a social media platform based around an Augmented Reality App (for the moment for smartphones, but in the future for smartglasses too) that enables users to place Augmented Reality digital pinboards almost anywhere, walls, floor, floating in mid-air, etc and share them with their connections. I've been working in this project for a couple of years now (one man band). I have a prototype for the AR part, no website yet.

I'm reading articles about how to do a kickstarter and I have a question about pre-launch promotion. Somewhere I read something along these lines: to launch the campaign with already 10% pledged from friends and family, and then make the campaign more public. I imagine this refers to have them agreed to pledge, I think there is no way to pledge before launch? On other places, I've read about collecting fans for months before the launch.

Which one would you recommend for my project?

I think I'll have to do the first, just because I haven't collected any fans for this project, and I want to launch it in mid-end September. I do have, though, a youtube channel with 413 subscribers, it's about an AR project I did 7 years ago. https://www.youtube.com/user/VTSProject so it's kind of the right audience. I was thinking to post my kickstater videos in this youtube channel and refer back to the kickstarter project after I have had some pledges from family and friends. Do you think this is a wise move?

Martin

Augmented Reality (AR) Virtual Pinboard in Kickstarter http://bit.ly/arpinboard
    sbriggman
    -- Veteran Member --
    -- Veteran Member --

Re: pre-launch promotion, two options I've read about

by sbriggman » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:44 pm

Well that's super cool.