paying to advertise your project
  • denemante
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

paying to advertise your project

by denemante » Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:47 pm

Hey all,

Let's say I wanted to go out and advertise my project outside of Kickstarter. Perhaps I do a banner buy for 500K impressions. Maybe I get co-op placement in 10K emails some company is sending. Or I buy a paid editorial feature in some magazine talking all about my project.

My day job is in online marketing. With client projects, we're extremely watchful for points of "leakage". If we spend $2500 to drive traffic to a website or landing page, we assure that it doesn't have distractions or ads or links out to other sites. Otherwise, we've just paid for traffic that came and went. Landing pages/websites should be dead-ends that end at the "buy now/submit" button.

But if I go out and spend money on my KS project, I'm almost advertising Kickstarter itself and even other people's projects as much as I'm advertising mine.

My project could be fantastic. But people arrive and say "oh, Kickstarter...never been here...this is cool...let me have a look around!". Then I'm forgotten. This absolutely happens even with the most fantastic products. People are just curious. Thus - gotta stop that leakage. There is typically only a sliver that keeps you in the black with online advertising to start with. Costs mandate that you must get X number of "sales" to break even. If you've got people falling off left and right as they leave your page to go explore Kickstarter, you'd have to double what you ask for pledges to cover the costs of the advertising.

So why would anyone want to pay to advertise their KS project? It would seem that KS should split the cost of those ads. Of course, they won't do that. But since it so strongly benefits them if someone pays to advertise their project, you'd think that they might even have discounts available through partner advertising networks that we could use.