advance infrastructure
  • James Nowlan
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

advance infrastructure

by James Nowlan » Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:17 pm

What has to be set up before you start collecting funds? Do you have to have say an account to handle the money or can you hire one if and when you reach your goal? Should you set up a seperate bank account for the project or can you use your own (and what is the risk of having the funding treated as personal income?). Do you need an itemized budget?

• julianh2o
    -- Junior Member --
    -- Junior Member --

Re: advance infrastructure

by julianh2o » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:59 pm

I've launched one successful Kickstarter all the way through and I'm no expert as far as financials are concerned, so perhaps someone more experienced than I can confirm my points, but if you're planning on ultimately starting a business out of your Kickstarter, I'd recommend front loading some of the paperwork pieces.

You can get away with nothing but an Amazon Payments account linked to Kickstarter (afaik that's still current.. but if you start creating your project on Kickstarter, it'll tell you what you need to set up). However, as convenient as it sounds to just get started, it can be a bit of a headache to juggle later on in the process without a bank account and possibly incorporation.

You can wait until after you have a better idea of whether or not you're going to be successful in your funding, but it may be a good idea to have a bank chosen and have called them to inquire about the kind of account you might want to use. For a true business account, they may need an EIN number which you will have to actually incorporate to get. The additional benefit of incorporation is that it gives you a bit of a personal liability shield in certain cases which may or may not be useful for your project.