"The American Train" - a documentary - Can we make it!
  • DemetriusVilla
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

"The American Train" - a documentary - Can we make it!

by DemetriusVilla » Fri May 02, 2014 3:37 am

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/16 ... ocumentary

Should I have posted this A LOT SOONER or what? The benefits of school finals, projects and work. :oops:

However - my name is Demetrius, I am a student at Florida International University (FIU) and president of the High Speed Rail America Club. I'm sure most of you have wondered what America could be like if it had high speed rail systems like Britain, Japan, France, South Korea and Germany. This is what my documentary is going to show.

It will highlight the past, present and future of American rail travel, while following me and my brother on a train from Miami to NYC. The reason why my family takes the train so often is because my brother has autism and has an intense fear of flying. The train ride nearly takes 31 hours on Amtrak. The film will take place on the train, Miami and New York City.

The film if successful will be shown to a large audience in FIU (over 50,000 students) and spark the debate in the US on fixing the infrastructure 50 years behind in the past.
    The funding will be used mainly for buying the equipment (our gear at the moment is borrowed and not allowed to leave campus) as well as use the equipment for further videos for advocating for high speed rail. The rest will go into promoting it around campus and Miami.
    Please tell me your thoughts, comments and concerns and feel free to pledge to it as well if possible. I thank you for your time.

___
    "If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them." - Bruce Lee
    sbriggman
    -- Veteran Member --
    -- Veteran Member --