Tactics of a Successful Kickstarter Campaign
  • MichaelTumey
    -- Senior Member --
    -- Senior Member --

Tactics of a Successful Kickstarter Campaign

by MichaelTumey » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:33 am

Tactics of a Successful Kickstarter Campaign (probably more than you wanted to know!)

Instead of posting my preparation, planning, operation, changes and results in a dozen different posts scattered around the forum, I thought I'd do a breakdown of my entire campaign process and circumstance that led to my successful results. This is by no means a "bolier plate" step-by-step process, simply the variables I had to work with, and how I went about getting the most of my limited resources and goals.

My Background:
    I've run various small businesses since 1987, I am a graphic designer by profession with my own shop. I have the hobby of playing, running, designing and doing cartography for tabletop roleplaying games since 1977 (as a 15 year old). In 2007 I created an online service to print and ship full color game maps worldwide, and began joining various RPG game forums to promote it. I participated in several RPG cartography contests and won, and began a side career as a fantasy cartographer for RPG publishers - I eventually got map commissions from one of the largest publishers. Because I had game development interests, I've created a published RPG Japanese horror setting as an imprint under a successful publisher, so have worked the publishing industry as game developer, designer, illustrator, cartographer, page layout, writing, editing over the past 3 years. With my business management experience, all this was leading to my own hopes of becoming an RPG industry publisher of my own. I was at the threshold of taking that next step.

Events that led to the Campaign: