Kickstarter Newbie and Author
  • yithril
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

Kickstarter Newbie and Author

by yithril » Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:56 am

Hi all!

I am new to the forum and just getting to know the world of Kickstarter. I plan on starting a campaign next month and have been working tirelessly trying to get all of my ducks in a row before I launch the campaign. It's going to be a graphic novel, my first one, so I'm super nervous about it. :D Anyways, I'm a writer and I just want to put out a cool story. I'm from Michigan and I'm hoping to get some good tips about how to be successful, although the odds may be stacked not so much in my favor. Looking forward to chatting with folks!

sbriggman
    -- Veteran Member --
    -- Veteran Member --

Re: Kickstarter Newbie and Author

by sbriggman » Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:42 am

Welcome to the forum! Sounds cool. One resource you may want to check out (I compiled a while ago) is a list of comic book related blogs (not sure if this pertains to graphic novels): http://www.crowdcrux.com/20-bloggers-an ... mpaign-to/

Be sure to add some of your campaign stats when you launch to this thread: what-are-the-video-page-stats-like-for-your-campaign-t897.html
    Learn how to succeed on Kickstarter: here.
    Submit a free press release for your Kickstarter campaign here.
  • yithril
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

by yithril » Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:52 am

So, because I like being direct and honest, for these comic book blogs, you don't just walk up to them and be like "Hey....so like, I have this new comic/graphic novel and wouldn't it be cool if you guys were to run it on your blog?"
    sbriggman
    -- Veteran Member --
    -- Veteran Member --

by sbriggman » Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:29 pm

I don't know as much about the comic book industry as you do, but giving you an example of how I would approach a larger business-related publication might yield some ideas for promotion.