25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book
  • MichaelTumey
    -- Senior Member --
    -- Senior Member --

25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book

by MichaelTumey » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:48 pm

Hello, my name is Michael K. Tumey, I am a professional fantasy cartographer, having created dozens of map commissions for RPG publishers large and small, including all the maps for the Kaidan setting of Japanese horror by Rite Publishing, 189 map objects for the Profantasy Software Modern Map Symbol Set, the original hand-drawn map of the City of Kasai for Paizo Publishing's Jade Regent Adventure Path, and dozens more since 2007.

About 2 months ago, I began posting maps and map tutorials on the Map Making for Games G+ community. Responders to my posts there clearly state that the techniques I use could easily be adapted to many software applications, even though I created those maps and tutorials using Xara Photo & Graphic Designer - my application of choice. Many there asked if I could collect all these tutorials with more added and to create an instructional manual to help gamers create their own maps. It was they who suggested I run a Kickstarter to fund the project.

So, as of Friday, August 2nd, I started a 30 day Kickstarter funding period (going to September 1st) for the 25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book Kickstarter, with the tag-line: create stunning, photo-realistic RPG and board game maps using any standard graphics software (emphasis on: Photoshop, GIMP, Illustrator, Inkscape, Xara Photo & Graphic Designer). As long as you have some familiarity with your application of choice, the techniques provided in these tutorials will allow you to create high quality game maps quickly and easily with professional results.